• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

7 Mile Stride

Update on my mysterious illness: Feeling much better today. Woke up still experiencing pain whenever I swallowed but it’s progressively gotten better throughout the day. Last night Chad got home from Community Group and I was already showered, had blogged, set out stuff for work today and was in bed watching Biggest Loser from the other night. He asked if I wanted him to make me anything to eat since I hadn’t really eaten all day and I decided that a grilled cheese sounded fine and then he suggested he had some ham to it so I accepted. I had a few Lay’s BBQ chips on the side and boy was it good. I still experienced pain while eating but at least I was getting some food in my body.

I had to attend a meeting this morning at work and when I got there, lo and behold, there was a whole box of WARM glazed Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Seriously? Are these things following me? First Chad had a whole dozen last weekend and less than a week later they are put in my face again. Thank goodness I had grabbed a packet of oatmeal on my way out the door so I quickly ran and fixed it up so I could resist the delicious looking fluffy, sweet, glazed doughnuts. I resisted and was super glad. They will not defeat me!! Those little stinkers! They are so good though!

My meeting ended around 10:30 and I came home to a husband wanting to go eat at Toast on Market. This restaurant is one of our favorite places in Louisville. Everything is made from scratch on their menu and is absolutely divine. I think it’s the best place to go for brunch by far. I look at the menu every time but always stick with the same thing. Their ham and cheese!

AGH! So ridiculous. And I always get a side of pasta salad for my side item.

I only hate half of my sandwich and pasta salad so I could take the other half to work tomorrow. Better to enjoy it two days instead of just one in my opinion! And I knew I had my run this afternoon so I didn’t want to eat too much to avoid a belly ache. Chad ordered their special today. The gingerbread pancakes with a side of bacon.

I did steal a bite and they were great too but I was happy to stick with what I ordered.

We headed home to catch up on Grey’s Anatomy from last night and I ended up taking an unexpected two hour nap. I woke up a little before 4 and knew I needed to get hopping so I could go on my long 7 mile run. I was happy to not have to layer up as much due to the upper 40 degree weather we had today.

And I was even more excited to use my Garmin Forerunner 305 for the first time! I ended up not running the whole time like I wanted to but I pushed through and finished the 7 miles in 1 hour and 18 minutes, making my average pace around 11:13/mile. I find myself getting so discouraged about this marathon training. I know it’s still technically early in the game (training) and I have 4 more months to go but I just want to be able to run and finish well! I have been told by several people that I need to purchase the book, “Run Less Run Faster”, so I think I’m going to be making that purchase soon. Tomorrow will be rest day for me but Sunday I’ll be back at it. Even if I do have to run after work in the dark. I’ve got to start training smart and hard. It’s getting super serious and I feel like I haven’t really prepared myself for these feelings I’m experiencing. Like today for instance, my legs felt absolutely fine running but my mind just wasn’t pushing my heart to keep going so I would stop and rest for 30 seconds. I know that sometimes this is necessary and okay but not at this point. I need to be running each of these runs without stopping and I’m not. I am trying to figure out what’s going on within my will power and heart to let myself stop. So while trying to figure all of this out, I’m going to keep on pushing.

P.S. Can’t wait to run across this bridge for the last stretch of the marathon!

I got home and actually felt quite nauseous so we decided that I needed some food in my tummy and set out to eat at Third Avenue Cafe right down the street. This place has a lot of vegetarian dishes and I had planned on trying tofu for the first time and was advised against it since the waiter said it would probably sit heavy on my stomach. So I went with the Third Avenue Burger. Why oh why do I go back and order the same ole thing? I said I eat out of the box but I don’t necessarily do it 100% of the time. But I did try bleu cheese on it and did not like it at all! So I scraped it off. I actually cut it in half and saved over half the fries and half the burger for lunch for Sunday. I’m super thankful that I didn’t eat the whole thing because my stomach still doesn’t feel just right yet after my run.

We’re home and I’ve got to get a shower to get ready for work tomorrow! I work the next 6 days in a row and then it’s off to Vegas next Thursday afternoon for a girls trip! Hope everyone has a great weekend!

One Response

  1. Oh my goodness… those gingerbread pancakes look and sound soooooo good!

Leave a Reply

