• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Flying By

Work is flying by today and I’m loving it. I figured that since we were so busy this morning that another no lunch day would be happening. But lo and behold, I’m sitting here eating lunch.

Did anyone else have a hard time getting out of bed this morning because I sure did. I was feeling the burn of my 3 mile run yesterday as I stretched my legs to hit the floor. Thank goodness I hit the ground running from the second I got to work. It’s kept me going so I don’t feel like I’m going to crash. I was surprised when I was able to get 5 minutes to eat my breakfast of peaches and cream oatmeal. No pictures because a: It’s a boring breakfast and b: There was no time.

My lunch was last night’s dinner. Grilled BBQ chicken wraps. I think wraps will be a staple lunch piece. They’re easy, healthy and delicious. I’ve got to invest some time to find more creative ways to make a better, more meaningful lunch. I’m telling you though, I am starting to be obsessed with red and yellow sweet peppers now! Man they are so good and add tons of flavor to any dish. I can’t believe I used to only eat lettuce, ranch, cheese and chicken on my wraps. I was missing out!

After a satisfying lunch, I’ve got to get back to work. Only 6 1/2 more hours to go until the end of shift. I’m planning on heading home and getting a strength training workout in since I ran yesterday and need a day off from running. And I’m actually craving a hamburger so maybe the hubs will make burgers tonight. You never know. We shall see.

3 Responses

  1. Love this new blog! Where are you getting all of these meal ideas or recipes? I’m really bad at cooking on the fly – I have to use cookbooks. But that requires a lot of planning in advance.

    Anyway – keep this up. It’s awesome!

    • I get some meals from cookbooks but most are results from my husband being so innovative. I’m a planner but he can just whip something up with no recipe most of the time. So usually I’ll plan a tentative menu and buy all the ingredients and he’ll just play with it all. I have to have the cookbook right in front of me to cook. He’s great at improvising and I’m great at eating it. Right now my lunches have become leftovers from the night(s) before. Quick, easy, already cooked. Just have to place it in bags or Tupperware separately so you can throw it all together at work. I’ll hopefully be posting our recipes more regularly. Keep your eye out for them!!

  2. Lauren-

    I actually cut up all sorts of colors of bell peppers and put them in ziploc freezer bags and stick them in the freezer. They are still perfect after you thaw them out or throw them in your skillet, etc… I do the same with okra, celery, and onions. They keep longer that way, and they still taste fresh to me. 🙂

    Jessica

Leave a Reply

