• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

My Ears Hurt

I woke up this morning around 7…. nice to sleep in for an hour and a half longer than usual. I had two wonderful re-certifications today for nursing. So I’m now officially good for two more years on my CPR and Neonatal Resuscitation certifications. I love that I was able to get them both over with in the same day! It’s nice to not have to worry about renewing for two more years. I even got the privilege of visiting my good friend, Scarlett, and her brand new baby girl, Gleason. So sweet. I love me some babies. Not enough to have some of my own yet, but I sure do love them and their sweet baby facial expressions, movements and newborn smell. I was thankful to visit with them for a couple of hours.

Here’s Scarlett and I less than a month ago at one of our doctor’s Christmas parties. I can’t believe sweet baby Gleason is finally here!

I ate lunch with Scarlett and Gleason. I’m glad I brought a simple salad today. Nothing too big and I had 4 saltines with it.

I was totally starving by lunch time. Maybe it’s because I skipped breakfast. I know that’s horrible but I just got into class and we were rolling so I decided to wait. So I ate my muffin that was intended for breakfast after lunch for a snack.

I’m glad I got that snack in because after classes it was time to head on my 3 mile run with my running buddy for the day, Amber.

Before I knew it classes were over and it was back out in the cold for another run. Yeesh. It was only 28 degrees today compared to the mere 17 from this past Saturday’s run. Today was only a 3 miler and I finished in 27 minutes. Averaging 9 minutes a mile. Not too shabby, I don’t think. I’m still trying to tough out the cold weather. There is still plenty of snow and ice on the ground and the rougher terrain makes it harder to keep the pace up and breathing even. I don’t know if I’m psyching myself out, if it’s the cold weather or what but I’m ready to run and feel like I’m running at my optimum. I honestly think it’s the coldness that is holding me up. I feel like I’ve kept a little bit of a head cold since my crazy 5 miles on Saturday. My ears hurt, they feel clogged, my throat feels swollen and my head feels like it has constant pressure. Soooo…. I’m ready to feel normal again and feel like I’m running my best but right now I don’t. I feel like I’m slacking and not pushing myself but sometimes I guess it isn’t wise to push it too much. I’m anxiously awaiting the 40 degree weather we’re supposed to experience in a couple of days!

So that means I had rest of the day off from 4 pm until bedtime. I love having afternoons off. I don’t think I’ve talked about work too much on this blog but I’m a Registered Nurse in labor and delivery and work an average of 60 hours a week which calculates out to five 12 hour shifts a week. I love working that much. I was raised with an amazing work ethic instilled in my bones and am thankful that I’m dedicated to my job. I love working with babies and mommas, especially in a downtown city setting. Most of my patients are teenagers, single moms and need love like they need air. I take pride in my patient care and it makes my heart soar when I have patient’s that come back and ask for me. But it’s not very often that I go to work and am home by 4 or 5 in the afternoon because I work from 7 a.m.-7 p.m but those 2 or 3 extra hours adds so much time to my day! I love it. It gives me a chance to chill out, spend time with the hubs, help with dinner, conquer some work around the house, workout, blog and whatever else I need to do. So I’m relishing this time of catching up on things and getting things accomplished at a decent hour.

Tonight we had an excellent tasting dinner. Barbeque grilled chicken wraps. Oh so good. We were able to bust out the whole wheat tortilla shells and they were delish! And healthy too. I do love me some Sam’s Club. We got a whole 20 count of these for like 4 dollars! Love great deals! I used to just eat lettuce, chicken, cheese and lots of Ranch dressing on my wraps but since I’ve been breaking out of my little comfortable food box, I decided to go with lettuce, onion, a little cheese, red and yellow sweet peppers and a small strip of ranch dressing. Looking back, I really didn’t need the strip of ranch dressing. I have packed up the leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch and am going to go sans ranch but go with everything else. All the veggies added lots of flavor and filled me up! P.S. I can’t wait for our next grocery trip because I need lots more fruits and veggies!!!

I’m thinking I’m done for the night. I’ve got my breakfast, lunch and snack packed up and ready to go for work tomorrow and I’m settled. Time for a little downtime until The Bachelor. I love when everything is done around the house and my workout is completed and I can chill for a little bit. It’s going to be a great night winding down. Hope everyone had a great Monday! See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

