• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Dying Dying…. Dead

Ok, so I’m not dead but I felt pretty close there for a while on my ridiculous 5 mile, 17 degree weather, snowing big snowflakes, run. I pushed myself to climb out of bed this morning at 7 am to don my running apparel and drive to Swag’s Shoe Store and meet the running group to head out.

There were about 20 of us ready to roll and we were off. Two of my nursing friends, Amber and Mary, met me there to run. They are training for the miniMarthon so they only had to run 3 miles this morning. Boy was it hard to not want to turn around with them when they hit their halfway point. But I found a running partner for today. Her name was Renee and God love her, she ran with me the whole time. She pushed me hard and I’m thankful. We ran through Iroquois Park so the hills were killer for me so I did have to take a few 30 second breaks so my lungs wouldn’t explode into a million tiny pieces but I finished. My new Garmin Forerunner was shipped today so I just used my regular stopwatch and clocked us finishing the 5 miles in 55 minutes. I guess an 11 minute mile in the snow and ice isn’t too shabby. I was so excited to get to the finish that I thought I was going to pass out. I couldn’t believe I had really gone on a 5 mile run in this crazy weather. I feel like if I was able to get through today, then the rest will be a breeze in a little bit of warmer weather and better conditions. I’m sure I’ll be wishing for just a 5 mile run one day in the future when I’m hitting 21 miles but for now, I’m thankful and feel like I can conquer anything.

Things to remember for future runs:

  • Don’t wear too many layers… I ended up way too hot after the first two miles and felt like the heaviness was slowing me down.
  • Maybe listening to music isn’t for every time I run… go with the flow.
  • Keep a running partner for these long mileage days.
  • Remember there’s an end in sight… I can beat the brutality of the long runs.
  • Go on runs in the morning so I can have the rest of the day without it hanging over my head.
  • Love every second of the scenery and feeling of accomplishment.
  • Listen to my body, if I can’t then I can’t. But remember that it’s ok to push a little harder.

I’m home now and plan on getting a nice hot bath at some point but right now I’m concentrating on replenishing my body with some nutrients. I’m currently diving into a bowl of Kashi cinnamon harvest cereal topped with a banana.

I’ve got to start chugging the water. Especially since I was only able to get two of my big glasses of water down yesterday. I’m feeling drained.

Good news is… The hubs and I have a hot date planned for tonight. We’re heading to Seviche to indulge ourselves. And what I mean by indulging is… 2 or 3 seviches, steamed mussels and wild grilled salmon for me. We’ll obviously split the mussels and seviches but I am pumped! We’ve planned this date a few other weekends and each weekend we planned it one of us got sick or something came up. So not only is it a date night but it’s a late birthday dinner for Chad. And by late I mean 7 weeks late. Oops. So no one is sick this weekend and I’m going to enjoy every bite because I deserved it after my run this morning. I’ll be taking lots of pictures of the food so you might be cautious reading my next post because it will make you hungry!! And I’m really excited because I planned on getting dressed up for the hubs. I never really get to dress in too many regular clothes. I’m usually in scrubs or running clothes. That’s what happens when you work 60 hours a week and you’re trying to get in your runs the rest of the time.

Stay tuned for a post later on tonight… I’m off to soak in the tub, get in some warm clothes and catch up on my TV shoes that I’ve DVR’ed.

3 Responses

  1. Yay Lauren!! I am very proud of you! After the baby comes my “big” goal is just to be able to do a 5k!! hahaha 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  2. Thanks Katie! I’ve been keeping up with your blog and what little Miss Ainsley is doing. I know you can’t wait until she’s here!!! Tell Jim hello for me!

  3. […] for another run.  Yeesh.  It was only 28 degrees today compared to the mere 17 from this past Saturday’s run. Today was only a 3 miler and I finished in 27 minutes.  Averaging 9 minutes a mile.  Not too […]

Leave a Reply

