• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

It’s Cold Out There

The remaining day of work went by fairly quickly. I started to carb crash around 1:30 but got up, walked around and snapped to it. I had just a banana for my afternoon snack today. No peanut butter today. I was planning on running tonight but it is predicted that we will get 5 inches of snow through the night and we already got a light dusting today so I didn’t think it was the smartest thing to go running in the dark and not know where any ice spots could be lurking. That would be just my luck. Start marathon training and then fall on my rear and break something and not be able to run. So I refrained, regretfully. I am so ready for it to warm up even just a little bit. Speaking or running, every Saturday morning until race day there is a group of runners meeting to run together for that day’s mileage. Should I join a running group? How do you runners train out there? I actually don’t mind running by myself but I’m wondering if a running group would help me get faster and keep me more motivated?! So feel free to share your tips…

I made it home to dinner ready for me on the table. I love that the hubs cooks for me and has dinner ready for when I get home from work. It helps out so much! Tonight was flank steak fajitas. They were awesome! Chad had sauteed some mushrooms, red and yellow sweet peppers and I topped it with lettuce, cheese and sour cream. Oh, and a little BBQ sauce for more flavor. It all went together so well. We were finishing up our remaining regular flour tortillas so we can start using our wheat ones that we bought at the store this past weekend. They’re a little bit smaller too so I’m anxious to get to using those.

Chad puts this !hot! sauce on all of his stuff. My tongue is a little too sensitive for that kind of heat. I’ll stick with the mild to medium hot sauces.

Well, I’ve been asked a few times now for the taco soup recipe. Here is the yummy goodness.

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1-2 (16 oz.) cans chili beans (Do not drain)
  • 1 (16 oz.) can whole kernel corn (Do not drain)
  • 1 (16 oz.) can diced tomatoes (Do not drain)
  • 1 (15 oz.) can tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • 1 (4 1/2 oz.) can chopped green chilies
  • 1 pkg. taco seasoning mix
  • 1 pkg. Hidden Valley Ranch dry salad dressing mix

Throw it all in a crock pot and cook on low for 4 hours or high for 2 hours. Stir, serve and enjoy!

Hope everyone had a wonderful Wednesday! The week is half way over! See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

