• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

SCARED!!!

Alright, so I just got back from my marathon training seminar and am freaking out!!! Ok, before we get to that part of the day… I’ll re-cap what happened for the last 24 hours.

The lobster and seafood ravioli for dinner last night turned out well.

The hubs and I both agree that it maybe would’ve been better with alfredo sauce instead of marinara. But that’s what trial and error is all about, right? We quickly ate our food, drank our cup of hot chocolate and settled into watch season premiere of The Bachelor. I love it and am already obsessed. I will look forward to the next couple of months of Monday nights. I, regretfully, stayed up until 11 pm and finally forced myself to turn off the TV so I could get some shut eye. But I did get some wonderful shut eye in my new sheets that Chad bought yesterday. What do you think? I think I’m loving the dark brown!! So is Ollie boy.

Good thing I got as much sleep as I did because we were busy, busy at work today! I was thankful that I was able to fit in breakfast, lunch and afternoon snack. I will try my absolute hardest to eat like I’m supposed to at work but sometimes the days are so busy that you don’t get to even go to the bathroom, let alone eat. So on some days, I know I won’t be able to eat breakfast but hopefully most days I’ll be able to fit in all my meals.

It was strawberries and cream oatmeal for breakfast. I know, so 1st grade right? I’ve loved fruit and cream oatmeal my whole life and can’t seem to deviate from it when it comes to oatmeal. I’m pretty resistant to buy oats because I have no idea what to buy and what I’ll like. So for now, it’s either fruit and cream oatmeal or cereal. Any advice on how to be able to eat a healthy, easy breakfast at work is much appreciated.

For lunch it was some more leftover taco soup. I added two saltine crackers at the end to dip in the leftover sauce. Yum yum good. I have a lot more soup left but feel like I’m being complacent if I keep eating it for lunch. But it’s pretty healthy and easy, so I think that might be my lunch for the rest of the week. Hey, it’s better than my old routine of PB&J with Ruffle potato chips, right? So sorry if you get bored seeing the same ole lunch for the week.

I’m also trying to squeeze in two of these huge 28 oz. cups of water at work a day. Of course I’ll be drinking water with training and at home after work but I definitely want to keep hydrated at work. I think it’s essential to training and living a healthy life. And this is coming from the girl that used to drink only coca-cola. Seriously. I never drank anything but coke and now I have one every once in a while. I have them in my fridge and I can’t tell you how long they’ve been there. I love water now! Even though, when I go out to a restaurant to eat I like to order me a good ole fountain coke. I need to work more on ordering water at restaurants. It’s absolute habit that the word coke comes out of my mouth. I’ll just have to practice the word water. And I’m sure we’ll save a whole bunch of money a year too if I just order water, you think?

Around 5 pm I ate an afternoon snack consisting of 3/4 tablespoon of peanut butter with a banana. I love peanut butter and I love bananas so this, to me, is a perfect afternoon snack. P.S. Not my coke in the background.

After getting some much needed nutrition in my body, I left work to head to my first marathon training seminar. Which brings us to now. I started freaking out with listening to everything. I kept thinking, “Am I really going to do this? Am I crazy? Can I finish?” Honestly, I have 16 weeks to train for my first ever marathon! How crazy is that? It will be here before I know it. I’m excited yes, but soooo nervous at the same time. I am completely petrified at the thought of failing. I’ve never wanted to be known or thought of as a failure. I’ve lived my whole life being a perfectionist and over achiever and I’m not stopping now. I know that I will be calling on the Lord every minute of my training and during the race. He is truly the only One that can get me through this but I guess it was time for a good freak out since it’s really not too far down the road.

After chatting with my mom and freaking out to her, I came home to a much needed comfort food meal. My mom bought Chad this amazing panini maker from Williams Sonoma for part of his Christmas and he was making me my favorite dish that he makes… a ham and cheese panini with caramelized onions and honey mustard vinaigrette sauce (with a touch of cinnamon). He makes this sauce from scratch and it’s ridiculous. The sandwich was the perfect size and while I would usually break out my favorite potato chip (Lay’s BBQ), I just stuck with the sandwich. I was pretty elated to come home, calm my freak out, sit down and eat this delectable sandwich.

I’m off to watch the premiere of The Biggest Loser. I’ve never watched The Biggest Loser before and I really think I haven’t watched it before because I knew how addicted I would get. So we shall see how crazy in love I am with it after tonight’s episode. I also have to get mucho sleep because I’m headed to start my shift at 5:30 am tomorrow since someone came in early for me tonight so I could head to the marathon seminar. Four a.m. will be here quick quick so I’ve got to get to winding down. Hope everyone is having a great week so far. See you tomorrow!!

2 Responses

  1. Exercise can also increase oxidation that, in turn, increases the production of harmful free radicals. Nutrition Facts

  2. If you’ve got a thermos you can try taking in a green smoothie for breakfast:
    http://oneredblog.blogspot.com/2009/11/great-green-smoothie.html

Leave a Reply

