• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

On Call

I am proud to say that I was not a sluggard today while I was on call from work. It’s always hard being on call because I feel like I can’t really dive into anything too serious because I could get called in at any moment. But I found plenty to do to keep my hands busy. Chad and I cleaned the loft from top to bottom. It felt great getting everything spotless and super sparkly. I’m guessing I got a burst of energy from the wonderful bowl of Kashi Cinnamon Harvest and banana.

Don’t you always feel better after a nice deep clean? I feel like it helps me rest better at night. I’m thankful I married a man whose willing to help when needed without grumbling or complaining. With us working together we got it all done in half the time.

Around 2 I finally sat down for lunch and since I didn’t get called in, I went ahead and ate the taco soup I had packed. Even more delicious then yesterday.

I did actually take an hour to rest before putting on my running gear and hitting the pavement. I set out to run 3 miles and ended up running/walking three miles. I’m obviously going to have to get used to this 20 degree weather we’re experiencing.

I don’t know if it’s harder because I feel like I can’t breathe very deeply or heavier clothes due to the cold but something was majorly off today and I retreated back home feeling majorly defeated. But the hubs was right there to encourage me and let me know that I could do it… that it was probably just an off day. So tomorrow is a rest day from running and I’ll be back on it for Wednesday for a 4 mile run. Although my Garmin Forerunner failed to make it in my mailbox today, I laced up my new Saucony running shoes and boy am I in love. My left ankle had been giving me problems since last July after I had my bike accident so I was pumped to get some running shoes that supported my ankles in a great way. I was so excited to not feel any ankle or knee pain. So marathon training has officially begun and I’m scared/nervous/excited. Any and all training advice is welcome as I prepare for my first marathon ever!

We just got home (at 9 pm) from a meeting with some church friends and the hubs is cooking us lobster and seafood ravioli. Can’t wait to see how it turns out. I’m starving!!!! So I’m off to help with the remaining load of laundry and settling in to watch the season premier of The Bachelor. Little secret: I’m a die hard reality TV fan. It’s scandalous, I know. But I can’t seem to keep the DVR off of them. Love it. Hope everyone has had a great Monday!!! Until tomorrow…

4 Responses

  1. Glad you are applying the sermon already! I applied it later tonight, but had a relaxing day today – being off work one more day.

  2. yeah for marathon training love the new blog!

Leave a Reply

