• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

A Lazy Sunday

I’m snuggled in after a long, lazy Sunday. The hubs had an early morning due to him leading worship at our church, Sojourn. I made it to the 2nd morning service for my first Sunday serving on our new medical response team. I felt all official when they strapped a radio to my ear. I love being a registered nurse but I hate to think of having to be caught off guard by an emergency. So I’m continuously praying that everyone stays happy and healthy.

My breakfast consisted of a ripe banana and blueberry muffin. Not too much but enough to keep me satisfied. I didn’t eat a specified “lunch” because I ate breakfast late and we ate dinner a little earlier than normal. Sunday’s are usually an off day of eating due to church and such so we never really have a regular schedule on this restful day.

Soooo…. we got back home around 1:15 pm or so and I set off to make my first dish in the crockpot I bought last month. It was time for taco soup! I have literally only made two recipes in the crockpot before and wasn’t as impressed as what other people have been raving about. So we sold our crockpot over two years ago and after much talk of new recipes and everyone raving about the easiness of their crockpot, I decided to invest in another one. I got all the ingredients together, browned my lean ground beef and tossed it all in for a slow 4 hours of cooking. Can I just say how pleased I was after it was all said and done? First of all, I’m obsessed with the digital display, retractable cord and built in secure latch for the lid in case I want to haul it anywhere. Second of all, it’s cool to the touch and so simple to use. I didn’t even have to read directions. I know, it seems silly but these little things make me super excited.

Four hours later, we ate a delicious, comfort food, bowl of taco soup. Mmmm…. Mmmmm…. good. I think this recipe will be a keeper for sure! I’ve already put it in takeout containers for work tomorrow. It makes me excited for a fun lunch tomorrow.

The choice of toppings.

I went with a little shredded cheese.

The hubby’s bowl.

Ready for a yummy warm lunch at work tomorrow!

And of course, we’ve settled in with our nightly cup of hot chocolate. Love it.

I, unfortunately, didn’t make it out for a run today. My body feels back to its normal self but my sinuses are still messed up. I decided not to push it and make it out for a run tomorrow night after I get home from work. Can we say boo! I’m dying to get my new running shoes on and hit the pavement! I’m getting pretty restless. But the good news is, maybe my new Garmin Forerunner 305 will arrive in the mail tomorrow so I can use it on my run. We shall see! Hope everyone had a great weekend. Back to work and normal routine tomorrow. Keep making those healthy choices!!!

3 Responses

  1. I’ve got a good white chicken chili recipe I will send you that is good inthe crock pot too!

  2. I have a ton of crock pot recipes in one easy link I will send you.

  3. Sounds awesome! Thanks Lynn and Donna! Can’t wait to try them out. You can find my e-mail address in the contact section.

Leave a Reply

