• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Growing Pains

Can you believe that I signed onto wordpress tonight to discover that my blog was named one on the Blogs of the Day for gaining the most popularity? I can’t!! A Fit Foodie was number 11 out of 100! Wow. This makes me so excited. So I’m not having growing pains… I’m having growing fun! I’m absolutely loving thinking about A Fit Foodie and the ideas I have brewing. So keep reading and enjoying. I have so much in store for this blog and can’t wait to continue sharing it with all of you.

I finished the day yesterday by resting and eating a small portion of our leftover wing dip from the New Year’s Eve party we attended. I still wasn’t feeling like eating so I kind of forced myself to eat a little of this so I wouldn’t be starving when I woke up. This wing dip is pretty darn good and you can make it be light in calories too. It’s a great dish to take to a party and it will be eaten up in a quick second.

Wing dip recipe:

  • Two 8 oz. packages of 1/3 less fat cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup of lite ranch dressing
  • 10 oz. Medium Wing Sauce
  • Two 10 oz. cans of white chunk chicken breast
  • Two cups of Monterey Jack and Cheddar Cheese

Let cream cheese soften, mix all ingredients together (use only 1 cup of cheese), make sure chicken is drained before mixing, pour into dish, top with remaining 1 cup of cheese, bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. Serve with tortilla chips or cracker of your choice.

I woke up this morning wanting to feel 100% up to par again and lo and behold, I didn’t. My body ached and my nose wouldn’t allow me to breathe with ease. I forced myself to get out of bed and go grocery shopping because our cupboards were bare and the hubs was begging me to get some food in the house. We set off to conquer a long and much needed grocery list. I ate a small blueberry muffin that Chad had made yesterday and we bundled up to brace the cold. And boy was it cold. This is what our car thermometer said the external temperature was. Eeek. Thank goodness for warm winter clothes.

Chad made a pit stop at Starbuck’s to grab a cinnamon dulce latte and talked me into ordering a peppermint mocha. Now I have never liked coffee or anything with coffee flavor in it. After years of begging me to try and dive into the coffee world, I agreed to try a peppermint mocha. I was pleasantly surprised. Not too shabby. The espresso wasn’t strong and the milk and peppermint flavor was, so I was in good shape. I enjoyed sipping this hot drink in this freezing cold weather but I don’t think I’ll be a regular customer at Starbuck’s. I’m sure the milk and sugars aren’t the healthiest thing to indulge in but like I promised… I’m going to be a real person living in the real world. And sometimes you splurge on a sugary drink like a peppermint mocha.

Good thing I got a little energy going because the grocery store was crazy! We managed to get out of there in pretty decent time with some yummy finds. I’m super excited for our menu for the next couple of weeks. My favorite stop was at Whole Foods where we picked up some fresh bay scallops for the pasta primavera I made for dinner tonight. I seriously could spend all day in Whole Foods and never get bored. I’m thinking about going there for the bulk of our grocery shopping next time. Their fresh meats and seafood always look divine and they have a ton of organic products to choose from. And since I’m trying out new recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, it looks like that might be the best place to go. Where are your favorite places to shop for groceries?

Dinner was pretty good. I stuck with the lite alfredo sauce, red peppers, yellow peppers, asparagus spears and sauteed scallops for my pasta primavea. I had enough leftover from my plate to stick in the fridge for a quick lunch tomorrow. I chose to not make myself a piece of garlic bread but the hubs was kind enough to share a bite of his with me.

We’ve settled in after dinner with our nightly cup of hot chocolate. I started to protest tonight’s cup because I splurged on the peppermint mocha but the hubs insisted. I told him “I only want a small cup”. My appetite hasn’t been quite right during my sickly time so I figured I needed a few extra calories. A nightly cup of hot chocolate is mine and Chad’s tradition during the winter months and I absolutely relish every second. This gives a chance to wind down, curl up on the couch with our kitty boys and enjoy a moment of relaxation.

I’m off to settle in for the night. Thank goodness that I’m feeling much better. Still a stuffy nose but my body is feeling like it’s getting back to normal. I’m praying that I’m 100% myself tomorrow so I can go on a cold, much needed, run. Hope everyone is having a great weekend so far!

Leave a Reply

