• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

The Blog is Born!

Hello world! A Fit Foodie is finally born, I am proud to say. I’ve been chewing over this blog idea for a bit of time and finally decided to bite the bullet and what better day to start it then January 1st, 2010? I absolutely love food and have been on a journey of discovering a healthy balance between staying fit and healthy, while living in this big real world of grease, carbs, sugar and everything else in between.

You’ll hear bits and pieces about my story along the way but I figured I’d keep my first post pretty short and sweet. Where did the name “A Fit Foodie” come from? Well, I have to say it came from this beautiful lady…Her name is Beccy and she is my cousin by marriage. She’s super creative and is able to think outside of the box. When I knew this blog would be coming to fruition, I enlisted her help. And voila! “A Fit Foodie” is born. She’s a pretty rad girl that lives in the city that never sleeps and never lets the obstacles of life tell her no. She has guts, brains and beauty and I’m proud to call her my cousin. She never runs out of encouraging words and sweet little happies. So thanks Beccy for putting on your thinking cap for me and helping me to birth “A Fit Foodie”.

I’m pretty bummed that when I woke up this morning I was feeling completely under the weather. I was planning on lacing up my new running shoes and hitting the pavement. But after much thought and listening to my body, I feel it necessary to rest my body for the day. I’m hoping as the day goes on that I’ll feel better and better and hopefully make it out for a New Year’s Day run but I’m not going to push it. I have all weekend off from work at the hospital and plan on running, eating delish food, getting errands done and done, and spending time with the hubs.

I woke up this morning to the hubs having made blueberry muffins and I had two small ones. Yum Yum. I’m hoping my appetite picks up the rest of the day but this sickly feeling makes me not want to eat anything.

I hope everyone is having a safe and fun New Year’s Day so far. Feel free to add recipes, exercises and comments. I promise I’ll be updating regularly and be honest about my exercise and eating habits. So jump on board and join me in this journey.

Leave a Reply

