• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Needing a Break

After much thinking, prayer and talking with my husband and loved ones,  I have officially decided to take a break from the blogging world.  Whether it will be temporary or indefinitely, I’m not quite sure.

I’ve wrestled for a couple of weeks now with an uneasiness in my heart about continuing to blog.  I know that blogging is a big committment and I was prepared for that and loved it but now feel as if it taking my mind away from other things I need to be focusing on.

I want to take this time to focus on more of what I desire and what God desires for my life.  I desire to love my God more deeply, serve Him, serve His people and discover His direction for my future. I desire to have a deeper, more satisfying marriage with the taking time I put into blogging and turning it into dedicated time to my husband and our relationship.  I desire to keep running, biking and strength training, but doing it more for pure enjoyment, rather than pressure to be able to blog about it.  I desire to eat healthy, clean and as organically as possible, not because it’s expected of me as a health and fitness blogger, but because I want what’s best for my body.  I desire to run away from the guilt that sometimes ensues when I do indulge in chocolate, pizza, burgers, hot dogs and ice cream, because it’s sometimes too much pressure to keep up perfect appearances 100% of the time.  As you can see, there is much that I desire and I’m not saying I can’t do all these things with having this blog but I have felt a stirring in my heart to take a step back and re-evaluate.

I do, however, want to excessively thank each and every one of you (personal friends and blog friends) for being so supportive these last few months with my journey with eating to be kind to my body, training and completing my first marathon and just living to be my best and healthiest self no matter the situation.

I don’t know what the next steps in my life look like but am excited to find out.  I will still remain a faithful Twitterer and Facebooker so follow me, and I can follow you and keep up with you all!

I do believe I will miss you all and have moments of missing blogging about events but this is best for me right now and I hope you all support me and pray for me through this break.  Love you all.  Peace be with you.

12 Responses

  1. Girl! I understand. I ran a blog since 06 and I have been taking a break from it since this winter and all my health issues. I still read blogs a lot, but taking a step back from writing on one has been refreshing. I have had people tell me they miss and that it was encouraging and a blessing. This has led to a stir in my heart to revamp/get back to blogging our life, but I have been sitting on it for a while praying over it.

    Have freedom and joy in your break, however long that may be!

    • Sarah,
      Thank you so much for the encouragement. Hope you are feeling well through this weather season. Let us know, ever, if we can help you guys in any way if you’re having a flair up sort of day. I hear ice cream at Dairy Kastle helps. :-) Let’s go on a Dairy Kastle run when things calm down, for sure!! And we can sit and talk about the CSA all night and exchange recipes… or get together and cook a bunch of our stuff and hang out for dinner. Hope to see you soon!

  2. I will commit to pray for you during this time. I have enjoyed your blog. Hope your break is a good one for you! :)

  3. Lauren,
    I have learned so much from your blog. I am so proud to have witnessed your journey to try new foods and to step out of your comfort level, and to honestly tell us what you are eating.. Its nice to know that even healthy eaters still eat ice cream, pizza and mexican food. You have inspired me to only eat half my meal when eating out too! I will miss hearing about your” young and childress” adventures, but I completely understand .
    KNowing you, you will put your heart and soul in to a new project and many people will be better off because of it!

    Love, Donna

  4. I’m a new blogger and somehow stumbled upon your blog about a month back and I’ve definitely enjoyed reading your blog and learning things from you.
    Hope everything continues to go great for you!

  5. I am sorry to hear this, but glad that you are doing what is best for you. If you ever decide to come back to blogging, I will be here.

    Take care of yourself and your relationship with God.

    *Hugs*

    Jolene

  6. Oh sad day! I looked forward to your blog everyday – BUT totally understand the need for rest and your focus to be pointed elsewhere. God, husband, self – all things that certainly take priority over a blog. :)Although I do not know you on a very personal level – I’m appreciative for what you have done for me in the short time I have followed your blog. And just an FYI – I am very actively pursuing that “thing” I emailed you about awhile back. Thanks for the encouragement and advise you shared with me.

  7. I think we’ve all had to take a break from time to time. You do what is best for you! I’m sorry you felt any sort of pressure, that’s definitely not what blogging should be about (although I’ve been there too).

    Hopefully if you do come back you will blog what you want, when you want and only when you feel that it’s appropriate. Take care!

  8. What is important is taking time for you!!!

  9. Lauren,

    I did this with my old blog that I had a few years back. It was a moderately successful blog. I spent hours on it every day and I got BURNT OUT. I can totally understand how you feel. Heck, I’ve even taken months off from my CURRENT blog!

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog very much, and I can understand how you feel about having to “keep up appearances”…but I liked how you were honest with not always eating “clean.” You’re only human.

    Word of advice: Don’t delete this blog, in case you want to come back to it! I deleted my old one and now REALLY wish I had kept it for the future, in case I changed my mind.

    Best of luck!

  10. I every time spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles or reviews every day along with a mug of coffee.

  11. hey there and thank you for your information –
    I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this website, since I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but
    sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google
    and can damage your high-quality score if ads
    and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to
    my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content.
    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

