• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Growing On Me

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

Quick update on my goal to be in bed and ready to sleep by 10 p.m.  A big failure!!  I was in bed but not ready for sleep until 10:30!  But I’m getting closer.  Here’s to hoping tonight I make it for 10 p.m.  And thank you all for your “snacky” comments.  I don’t feel snacky towards non-nutritional items per say.  I just feel snacky in general.  Today was MUCH better.  Here’s to hoping my cravings for a constant food item in my mouth has turned the corner.

Today was actually  a lovely day.  Work was busy enough to where it passed by rather quickly and here I am at almost 9 p.m. at night, already winding down for bed.  I love days like this!

Breakfast was some good ole trusty Raisin Bran cereal.

Lunch was some grilled chicken, asparagus and half a sweet potato from the other night.

This is growing on me…

At first I was saying I think I like regular potatoes better but this was really good today.  I think it was maybe better because I didn’t add brown sugar to it like the hubs did the other night.  I think that might have made it too sweet.  Today was super tasty.  They might be a staple piece on our meals.

I snacked on a homemade peanut butter granola bar around 4:30 and was glad that held me over.

I immediately headed to a church gathering/meeting for what the future of our church entails. Such an awesome meeting and I am super pumped about what the future looks like in our congregation.

While we met I ate some mixed fruit for dinner.

And this cute little blueberry muffin that a patient’s family at work sent us today in appreciation.

Now is the time to start making my way to bed.  But I need to pack up breakfast, lunch and snacks for work tomorrow.  I hope you all had a great St. Patty’s Day!  See you tomorrow!!

You must go to Anne’s page for her awesome giveaway!!!  I need this food scale bad!!

Did you do anything for St. Patty’s Day?  Wear green, kiss someone Irish, drink green beer, go out with friends, etc.?

Obviously, I worked.  ;-)

8 Responses

  1. The most exciting thing I did was wear green and make a Target run after work. The peanut butter granola sounds tasty!

  2. Oooh….I *love* sweet potatoes with brown sugar…but I’ll have to try them without now :} My dad was telling me he heard if you top them with low-fat cream cheese it tastes like you’re eating marshmallows.

  3. Hey Lauren

    my husband is not a huge fan of sweet potatoes but I make them kinda like the fries only I cut them into small cubes with the skin attached and drizzles evoo on the bottom of a pan, then cover the potatoes with sea salt and crushed black pepper then drizzle with evoo again. Then I put them in the preheated to 400 degree oven and turn them every so often. I watch them and when they look like they are shriveling a bit I take them out. We don’t like them hard at all! You should try it; doesn’t sound like it would be great but it really is! And if you try it be generous with the evoo, salt, and pepper.

    We did nothing exciting today :( I forgot to even wear green! Oh well!

  4. I wore green, and went out to an Irish pub after work with friends … and drank beer and ate Irish food.

  5. I went out for green beer – but the bar only had regular beer! Still tasted good though!!!

    That sweet potato looks phenomenal…need to have sweet potatoes soon…

  6. We pretty much only eat sweet potatoes now, because we prefer them to regular potatoes! I don’t like them with sugar or cinnamon or marshmallows or any of that like my relatives make at Thanksgiving…just plain old butter and salt. I never get tired of it!

  7. I love your blog! I am tryiing to become a runner (trying is the key word!) so I give you major props. Im used to playing soccer, so running bores me pretty quick haha. ANyway, love your site!

  8. nothing fun over here, and I’m Irish! opps ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

