• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Granola Bar Goodness

A couple hours after dinner last night the hubs decided to break into the granola bars.  They were still a little lot crumbly but they, obviously, were still edible.  I ended up getting me a good bit last night after I tried a bite.  DELISH!

I was hoping they would bind together better overnight but we checked on them after lunch today and they are still super crumbly.  Next time I’ll use more brown rice syrup and peanut butter.  Other than that, they really are  fantastic.  I went ahead and scooped even portions into saran wrap and stored them in the fridge for an easy grab and go snack.

Side note: The cokes and Diet Sunkist in the background were mine.  Well, I guess technically still are mine. Even though I haven’t had a carbonated beverage in almost two months.  The cokes are, thankfully, almost gone because the hubs drinks one at night every once in a while and we’ve had guests drink them.  The Diet Sunkist, unfortunately, will have to be drank by me because the hubs doesn’t like them.  I’ve had those leftover in my fridge from the 12 pack I bought last summer. I like to drink them when I lay out on our rooftop deck in the summer.  Fizzy and cold.  But I’m hoping to have a soda free fridge soon.  They aren’t taking up too much space these days (seeing as how I used to drink 2 or 3 a day in the past and there are barely any left) but I’ll be grateful for the added space we’ll have when they are all gone.

Anyway… I meant to tell you all what I changed about the granola bar recipe.  I did not use chia seeds, just pumpkin and sunflower. And I used the puffed wheat cereal instead of the puffed rice.  I can’t wait to keep making these and having them for around the house, to take to work, road trips, etc.  So easy and healthy!  Thanks Anne!

I actually slept until 8:30 this morning!  I couldn’t believe it.  I’ve been automatically waking up around 7 or 8 on my days off so it was nice to get a little more snoozing in.  I decided a whole wheat waffle with a drizzle of syrup, dollop of butter, and a side of strawberries and a sliced banana would be a perfect Sunday breakfast.

I was right.

The rest of the day, so far, has been spent piddling around the house.  I’ve cleaned, organized, watched HGTV and Food Network, made lunch, now blogging and etc.  I love days where nothing is on the agenda and I can be carefree.  Too bad I have to return to work tomorrow!!

For lunch I decided to finish the tiny bit left of the tomato bisque we had and eat some wheat crackers and hummus on the side.

Hummus is definitely my new staple snack.  I’m OBSESSED!  I can’t wait to make some homemade hummus once we pull the food processor out of storage.  ;-)

I figured a mandarin would be the perfect ending to my lunch.

I’ve got to be getting ready in a little bit for church.  The hubs is leading worship tonight which always makes my heart swell.

Then I’ll be home while he leads a second evening service.  Hopefully I’ll get some good strength training in tonight before I make us a wonderful gourmet dinner.  Wait for it…. Sloppy Joe’s!  Hehe.  I love Sloppy Joe’s and I’ll be making it with ground turkey for the first time so I’m excited to have a little bit of a healthier version.  I’ve got my Lay’s BBQ baked chips ready to go for my staple side (who can eat a sloppy joe without chips on the side?  Not me!) and am debating on whether I should make some baked beans to go along too.  That’s why I didn’t eat a loaded ham sandwich for lunch today like the hubs did.  I figured that’d be too much bread in one day.  All about balance and moderation, right?

So get ready for some yummy looking sloppy joe pictures tonight.  I know I’m excited because I’m going to enjoy every single bite… and hopefully have leftovers for work tomorrow.

See you later gators!!

What’s your favorite granola bar mix in?  Chocolate chips, dried fruit, nuts, etc?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

