• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

  • Follow Me

Decompressing and Homemade Granola Bars

The rest of the day following my 5k this morning has been spent watching “Couples Retreat”, eating, relaxing, napping, cooking and eating some more.  It’s been a great day.

The movie was cute.  Not one that I would probably watch over and over but it did make us laugh really hard a few times.  I ended up eating my apple that I picked up after the 5k shortly after I ate half the bagel and banana from earlier.

I was starving again in no time and the hubs heated up some pizza he bought the other day.  I just ate two slices of cheese.

After the movie I ended up climbing into bed to watch some Oprah’s I had DVR’ed and ended up cat napping for an hour or so.  The hubs ended up running to Starbuck’s to get some reading accomplished and I just lounged around and vegged.

Right before he got home I got a burst of energy and knew it was a good time for me to get to making the homemade peanut butter granola bars that I had bought all the ingredients for yesterday.

All the ingredients.

The dry ingredients mixed in a bowl.

The wet ingredients after being microwaved for about 30 seconds.

I added the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and started mixing together.  It stayed a little clumpy so the hubs suggested I mix with my hands.

It worked perfectly.  I’ll mix with my hands each time from now on!

I placed it into a pan, flattened it out and stuck it in the fridge so it all could bind better.

I have a feeling I’m going to be addicted to these!  And they are super easy to make.  After Lent I’m going to have to add some chocolate chips I think.  ;-)

Go over to Anne’s page for the recipe.

It was then time for dinner and I was quite hungry after mixing all these great ingredients together.

On the menu: Roasted Red Pepper Hummus and wheat crackers for a light side.

I thought it was delicious. The hubs prefers original hummus.

Main Course: Flank steak on top of organic spring mix salad with feta cheese, alfalfa sprouts, tomato, shredded carrots and balsamic vinaigrette.

I decided that after dinner I was craving some fruit.  I started out with a clementine and decided it wouldn’t be enough to satisfy me so I added some red grapes.  Just what I needed.

It’s been a great day and I look forward to spending time with the hubs tonight while he’s taking a break from studying for a few hours.  I can’t believe tomorrow is Sunday!  My last day of my 3 day weekend!  Boo.

Hope you all have enjoyed your Saturday!  See you all tomorrow!!

What’s your favorite flavor of hummus?

7 Responses

  1. Holy YUM!
    Amazing eats!
    Just found your blog – and I´m loving it, so far! ;)
    Have an amazing weekend, girl!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  2. That first pic totally made me think of the Snow White movie :}

    On an unrelated note, have you tried Yoplait’s Greek yogurt? I noticed that Dannon & Yoplait had some at Kroger and decided to try it. I think I like Yoplait’s better.

    The Yogurt is 0 fat, but is sweetened with sugar, not aspertame (so it doesn’t taste like cancer) and it has *12* grams of protein. It’s not super sweet – more tangy. I’m liking it.

  3. Glad you liked the granola bars! :)

  4. Those granola bars look so awesome! I must try that recipe!

    My favorite hummus is probably this Spicy Orange Hummus recipe from Cooking Light. It has the most random assortment of ingredients, and I LOVE it!

    http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=614009

  5. The peanut butter granola bars look amazing =]

  6. [...] different texture than other oats.  Since I put these wonderful old fashioned rolled oats in my homemade peanut butter granola bars and liked them I thought I would LOVE them as hot oatmeal [...]

  7. [...] of Anne P’s five minute no bake peanut butter granola bars.  If you remember, I made these a little while ago and they crumbled and wouldn’t bind together so I was determined for them to be right this [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

