• Photobucket

    I'm Lauren and this is a blog dedicated to living life with a healthy balance. I love to run, strength train, bike and just be downright active. I'm a marathoner as of April 24, 2010 and am currently looking forward to qualifying for the Boston Marathon.

    I absolutely love to eat and enjoy great food but doing it all in moderation. You'll see healthy, organic foods on here frequently but you'll also run into things such as pizza and sweets. I believe you can have it all... just not all at once.

    I'm always learning and discovering new foods, recipes, workouts and ways to live a healthy lifestyle. Join me on my journey towards becoming my healthiest self.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 12 other followers

  • Follow Me

Running in Glasses

So apparently I need to catch you all up on yesterday and today… if I can remember!  :-)

Someone brought bagels into work yesterday so I decided to eat the bagel with some lite cream cheese.  I love bagels… especially wheat bagels but I was still content with the plain bagels that were brought.

Lunch was half of my tuna salad and some saltines with a pear on the side.

Like my huge glass of water?  I’m still not getting as much water in my system as I’d like but I’m getting there.

I ate some of my yummy trail mix for a late afternoon snack.

We had impromptu plans to meet up with some friends last night for some good fellowship and they were serving dessert so the hubs and I opted for a quick bite on the way.  He stopped at Arby’s and I headed to Subway.

Six inch ham & cheese on whole wheat loaded with lettuce, tomato, onion, black olives, bell peppers, banana peppers and lite mayo.  Ahhh… I love Subway.

Stuffed full!!

Oh and a bag of Baked BBQ Lay’s on the side.

In hindsight, I probably should have just gotten a veggie delight because I didn’t really taste the meat and all and it is so processed!  Next time I’ll bite the bullet and order the veggie delight.

After great time with friends (and resisting the homemade chocolate chip cookies that were staring at me the whole time) I headed home to eat a few red grapes before bed.

I was still a little hungry after my big sandwich and chips!  I’m telling you… my appetite has increased incredibly since marathon training!  It’s hard to get used to!

I didn’t get to sleep until after midnight because I stayed up to watch The Bachelor finale!  Boy was that a doozy.  So I’m glad that work called this morning to put me on call.  I woke up at 7 and stayed awake for a while but ended up dozing on and off for a few hours.    How nice.  I took advantage of the time off for sure.

I ended up doing a simple breakfast since we’re almost out of everything!!  A banana and some red grapes.

I was up and around cleaning up and organizing and had just gotten ready to heat up some soup and work called to tell me to head on in.  I only worked from 3 pm-7 pm and boy did that time sure fly.  I’m so used to 12 hour shifts that the 4 hours was a piece of cake.  But I did heat up my soup quickly and ate it in 1 minute flat.

Tomato bisque, lots of herbs and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.

I got to work and hit the ground running but was able to stop long enough at 530 for a snack.  Banana with peanut butter.  I guess it was a banana sort of day for me.

I headed home and knew I needed to get a run in so I can rest my body for the rest of the week before my 17 miler and 5k on Saturday.  I wish I would’ve ran this morning when they put me on call but it’s always risky because you never know if and when you’ll get called in so you hate to be three miles from your house and not be able to shower or anything.  Oh well.

I ran my 3 miles in 29:00!  So excited.  Granted, I was doing intermittent sprints for the last 1.5 miles but I pushed myself and pushed myself hard.  Glad I did. I  feel great!!  And I had to wear my glasses since my eyes are trying to get healthy again because of the apparent protein build up on my cornea.  The Dr. gave me disposable, one time wear contacts but they are super uncomfortable so I’m only going to wear them when necessary for my long runs.  Hopefully I’ll be back in my contacts by Friday!  It wasn’t as bad as I thought, running with glasses, but I’d rather not worry about them on my face.  Ya hear?!

The hubs had dinner ready by the time I got out of the shower.  Flank steak topped with McClard’s BBQ sauce and veggie pasta.

I might have had a piece of garlic bread too.  ;-)

I’m perfectly content right now and am ready to snuggle into bed with the hubs.  Gotta be a work bright and early in the a.m.!

Oh but you have to go to fANNEtastic Food’s page and enter the yoga mat giveaway!!

Do you wear contacts or glasses?  Do you ever wear glasses while running or working out??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

